NaNoWriMo 2008

October 6, 2008 at 9:23 pm (Family Life, Writing)

NaNoWriMo, the National Novel Writing Month is celebrating its 10th year this year.  I’ve signed up again, and have a sketch of an outline for this year’s book.  Just 25 days left to finish the outline, and the hardest part for me, selecting character names.

Last year was fun.  Fast paced, occasionally frantic, but fun.  My wife was happy to see my daughter and I when December finally rolled around.  Apparently we were somewhat secluded during that month.

My daughter is planning on doing it again this year, and my oldest son is going to try his hand at it.  We are trying to talk my wife into trying it this year also.

Last year’s novel, which reached 50,000 words on November 29th, has had a pathetic 5000 words added to it since then.  I haven’t given up on it, and the story really needs to be told, I just haven’t gotten around to finishing it.  One of these days…..

If you’re participating, I still recommend yWriter software (version 5 is in beta, version 4 is stable).  Since the author does NaNo also, I wouldn’t expect 5 to be stable before December.   I also still recommend Freemind for the ‘mind map’ outline.

Leave a Reply

