I’ve really done it now….

July 6, 2008 at 1:10 am (Computers, Family Life)

While my wife and kids were out of town, I decided to do some long (and I do mean long) overdue maintenance in my office. Basically I tore down my entire network and fixed the spaghetti tangle of cabling. I also took the opportunity to rid myself of a large collection of useless (to me, anyway) computer parts via Freecycle. I finally have everything organized the way I want, and powered up the server that is my firewall/gateway to the internet. It came up fine, but silly me, I chose then to update the antivirus software. That killed it. Not a hard kill, just enough for me to realize that dumping a spare drive and rebuilding it will be a better use of my time, since it was running short of drive space anyway.

Halfway through the first OS install, the ‘new’ drive that I selected started making funny noises.  I stopped the install, and swapped it out with a ‘new, new’ drive that immediately started the ‘click of death’.  Burned already, I ran a test on the next drive to verify it before I went to any more trouble.  That machine had been up and running nearly constantly for the last four years, and I’d like the new iteration to be at least as reliable.

So, for the time being, NONE of the computers on my desk can get online. None. I’m posting this from my wife’s laptop, that connects directly to the wireless DSL router.

On top of that, they’re coming home tomorrow, so I have to finish it by then.

Why then am I posting at my blog, you ask? Because it’s verifying and formatting the new hard drive, and I’ve got about 20 minutes to wait.  And it’s 2:30 in the morning and I really don’t want to sit and stare at that stupid thing any more.

2 Comments

  1. Elaine said,

    And now she’s gonna know what you did!! :surprise:
    Hope it all goes well and you make it to church. Better you than me cause I’d be tossing it all in the nearest lake to get rid of the headaches – of course I’d get caught and the new headaches would be much worse. 😆

  2. chocolatechic said,

    What a bummer.

    Having seen your office, that was a pretty big job. I’d love to see pictures of it now.

Leave a Reply

