A Political Sigh of Relief

February 11, 2008 at 5:59 pm (Politics)

As I was perusing some blogs on our lackluster presidential choices this year, I came across the following at The Jawa Report. Needless to say, I feel much better knowing that the two most likely Supreme Court Justices to retire are Stevens and Ginsburg. Both of them were on the wrong side of the Kelo decision, and I don’t know that it would be possible to put worse ones in place. In part, his analysis reads:

It is true that there’s a decent chance that one or two justices will retire in the next four years, but unfortunately for the liberals, the likely retirees aren’t named Thomas, Scalia, Roberts or Alito. The two oldest justices are Stevens (age 87) and Ginsburg (age 74), both generally considered two of the most liberal justices. As far as I know, not a single one of the conservatives is considered a particularly likely retirement in the next four years. Thus, the next President might very well have the opportunity to replace a justice or two, but it’s unlikely to affect the existing conservative wing of the court.

Knowing that, I really don’t feel the need to vote for McCain. I’m sure that over the next few weeks/months, he’ll give plenty of lip service to ‘conservative principals’, but I’m equally sure that lip service is all that it will be.

Now I have another dilemma. Our primary voting is tomorrow, and I still don’t know who to vote for. I was considering voting for Ron Paul, but his base is fairly rabid, and I’d just be counted as one of them. I think that a vote for Huckabee would carry much more weight as a protest against McCain, and I’m leaning that way. I have also considered voting in the Democratic primary for Hillary, with the hope that she gets the nomination. Obama is quite charismatic, and I’d much prefer the divisive gridlock that Hillary would cause.

3 Comments

  1. Elaine said,

    You know that the candidate choices are slim pickin’ when a conservative considers going to the other side to vote for Hillary. šŸ˜† I do agree w/your assessment of Clinton and Obama (he strikes me as being to pro-Islamic to the point that I think he converted – pretended to anyway – to Christianity to get elected to office), she would be the lesser of the two to deal with.

    I voted for Huckabee in the Republican Caucus here last week. I had many tell me that doing so would really be a vote for McCain. That didn’t prove true as Romney won the most delegates up here w/Huckabee coming in 2nd. Ron Paul came in 3rd and got 3 delegates while McCain didn’t get enough votes to get any delegates. šŸ˜€ We like to buck the system that the rest of the country gets into.

    It is very sad that there are no candidates running that are true conservatives along the lines of President Reagan. At this point I just don’t know who would do the least amount of damage until the next election. Not a pretty picture if you ask me.

  2. capitalggeek said,

    I really do think that the least damage would probably be Hillary. I can’t see anything but gridlock coming from congress.

  3. capitalggeek said,

    You know it’s really bad when McCain’s campaign manager says that he won’t ‘pander’ to the conservatives.

    http://www.washingtontimes.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20080214/NATION/437382070/1001

Leave a Reply

