NaNoWriMo excerpt 4

November 16, 2007 at 9:33 pm (Writing)

Here is another excerpt from my NaNoWriMo book.  It took quite a while, but I finally have pushed the characters back to my original (more or less) outline.   The 25000+ words that it took to get to this point are exactly 4 entries on my outline.  I now understand when some authors say that the characters  just ran away with the storyline.  I’m still not ready to give away too much detail of some of the juicy sub-plots, and at least one person won’t be happy that I didn’t include chocolate chip cookies yet…

 Jamison entered astrometrics.  Ensign Yu was on duty, and looked pale.
‘You don’t look well, ensign.  Perhaps you should go to the infirmary’
‘I may in a little while, sir.  First, you need to see this’
Ensign Yu handed him a neural headset, and Jamison sat down and put it on.  Immediately, he was surrounded by space.  Ensign Yu put her headset on, and appeared beside Jamison.
‘What are we looking for’ he asked
‘That’ she pointed to the system’s sun
‘It looks like a sun to me.  Is there something special I’m not seeing?’
‘Not the sun, the 4th planet.  You can just see it to the right of the sun.  There’ she pointed
‘OK.  I still am not sure…’
‘I’ll magnify it’
Immediately everything shifted and enlarged – like they shot directly towards the planet.  The sun took up everything on the left, and the planet was nearly the size of his fist.
‘OK, now watch.  I’m going to shift the time index back about an hour’  The image shifted slightly
‘Now, I’m going to play it forward at normal speed – you’re seeing both visual, and part of the EM spectrum right now’
The image began to shift again, and then the planet brightened.  Jamison could tell that it was the EM, and not visible brightness.  It appeared yellow.  It rapidly shifted colors, but stayed yellow at the same time – like the other colors were superimposed on the yellow.  After a minute of brightness, it faded again.
‘That was pretty.  What was it?’
‘I’m not sure.  It was in the far infrared range – almost microwave.  It happened twice before, both lasting a little more than a minute’
‘Could it be some kind or solar reflection?’  I ruled that out – the wavelength is wrong
‘What about interference from the sun – the angle is pretty close.’
‘Also ruled out.  There is no emission from the sun that could cause that.’
‘So that’s why the new sensor software picked it up as a pulsar.  Could it be a pulsar somewhere behind the planet?’
‘I don’t think so’
‘Zoom it in some more’ Jamison said
The image jumped again.  The planet was nearly a meter across, but the image was very pixelated.  ‘Is this at the highest resolution?’ Jamison asked
‘The highest we have without scanning again’
‘Play it again.’  the sequence occurred again yellow with other shifting colors ‘ Slow it down to half speed.’
It played at half speed.  ‘Half of that’
‘OH MY GOD’ Jamison exclaimed  ‘Did you see that – you can see the planet to the left of the spot, and it gradually brightens from the left, and fades out to the right.  DO YOU KNOW WHAT THIS MEANS’
Jamison ripped off the neural headset, smashed the comm panel and screamed ‘GENERAL QUARTERS’
Ensign Yu said ‘Yes, I know exactly what it means’ to Jamison’s back as he sprinted down the corridor.

4 Comments

  1. gingerporter said,

    You are in so much trouble…..You can’t leave me hanging like this….What’ the deal….I want to know what is going to happen next Mister….I am your wife!! That should afford me some privledges and I am sure all my friends would agree with me on this one!!!

    So….What does it mean…..please and thank you?

    Love you…:-)

  2. capitalggeek said,

    If I told you, then I’d have to SUE you.

    You’ll just have to wait for the next installment, when you may or may not find out.

  3. gingerporter said,

    Very Punny……:-)

  4. Elaine said,

    I’m w/the wife….I want to know what it all means.

Leave a Reply

