NaNoWriMo

October 28, 2007 at 5:26 pm (Family Life, Writing)

No, NaNoWriMo isn’t some type of microscopic poetry.  It’s the National Novel Writing Month.

I’ve decided that I’m going to participate this year.  I’ve had a few stories rattling around my cranium for a while, and I’m going to use this to kick-start my getting one of them down finally.

My daughter is also participating in their junior competition.

If you are interested, sign up quick.  The writing starts on November 1.

To help you out a little, Spacejock has some information on getting started writing, as well as a novel writing software called yWriter that simplifies the process.  He has quite a bit of advice for people wanting to write with tips and examples.  He also recommends using mind mapping software like FreeMind to keep track and help with the outline.

If I get anything worthwhile, I’ll post snippets here.

Leave a Reply

