Teaching my Boys how to Hide

January 27, 2007 at 9:42 pm (Family Life)

Our church has an annual ‘Wild Game Supper’ where men bring game that they have harvested for dinner. It is a great time – mostly just men and boys, gun talk, outdoorsey stuff, and FOOD. I’m not much into hunting, mostly because there isn’t enough shooting involved. I do have TWO good hunting stories, and this is really my only chance to tell them since my coworkers have heard them enough by now.

The most interesting thing is a group called ‘Raptors Up Close’ – they practice falconry, and brought some of their birds. There’s nothing like watching a hawk fly 4 feet over the heads of 500 men (with food) to get to its handler at the podium.

There’s also an archery contest for the adults, and a pellet gun competition for the kids. Really a great time for everyone with any outdoor interest.

There is also a camouflage competition.

That’s where I got myself into trouble.

You see, I decided it would be fun to teach the boys how to make ghillie suits.

Not a bad idea, but I had forgotten just how LONG it takes to make a good one – and I was planning good ones.

If you don’t know, ghillie suits are camouflage that is three-dimensional. Think pile of rags, or cousin Itt from the Addams Family. You can see what they look like at http://www.bushrag.com/ . If you’re interested in making your own, or seeing how it is done, check out http://www.geocities.com/stalker217/ghillie/intro.htm and http://www.ghilliesuits.com/build%20_own.htm . For some historical information and more links, try the wiki http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ghillie_suit

We did complete them in time for the Wild Game Supper, but there were two other people with ghillie there – go figure. My kids didn’t win, but the raptors more than made up for it.

Here are some pictures to give you an idea of what is involved, and what the end result looks like.

Here’s me, tying the shredded burlap onto the netting.

tying the burlap

And here are the boys ‘hiding’ in my parents back yard. My dad’s ( a Vietnam vet and retired Marine) first reaction was ‘Oh My’

And here they are with their hats taken off, just so you can see them.

I think I want one too.

2 Comments

  1. APuritanLady said,

    Love the pics! Ya’ll did well. You have wonderful young men…tell them I said so 😉

  2. Angela said,

    Where, exactly, are you guys? There’s no way I’d pass up a wild Game night, if I knew about it. In Florida and Georgia, my dad and grandpa would have something similar going on. Having no boys, my dad just took my sister and I, then dared anyone to say a word about it. Oh, the good ol’ days.

Leave a Reply

